The Caring Heart Award


The Caring Heart Award

October 24, 2005

This year's annual Caring Heart Award is presented to Audrey Sealey, a twenty-year plus veteran staff member who is presently engaged as the Trauma Coordinator, Department of Surgery. She is known for her compassion for patients, taking into account their physical, emotional and spiritual needs. She sees patients holistically, and works diligently at ministering to them. She treats patients as if they are members of her own family.

Here is what the six staff members (Juanita Jones, Denise Harris, Maria Giganti, Pedro Vega, Bella Kronfeld, and Diane Shelton) who nominated her have to say of this spirited woman: "Audrey D. Sealey, FNP, PhD has always exemplified herself as a compassionate and loving person. She is always available to assist in patient care and long-term heath care plans. She is a team player, and is on call whenever needed. She mentors students in the Nurse Practitioner Program in the Emergency Department, as well as her colleagues at TBHC. We feel Dr. Sealey should receive The Caring Heart Award 2005 because of her dedication to patient care in all aspects of her career. She is a healthcare person who loves her profession, and a mother who devotes herself to both her work and her family. Dr. Sealey demonstrates kindness, concern and caring at all times - it defines her personality."

The Caring Heart Award is presented annually after nominations have been received from staff members. All staff members are eligible who: (1) demonstrate respect for human beings as a whole, in the treatment of patients, their loved ones, and staff colleagues; (2) practice healthcare with an appreciation for the interrelated functioning of body, mind and spirit; (3) realize and model the importance of promoting teamwork among various disciplines; and (4) embody a substantial degree of wholeness in their own personal and professional lives, striving for a balance of physical, mental and spiritual well-being.

This year's nominees are pictured here, and they are: Manuel Alcantara, Isaint Alexander, Jennifer Aquino, Bertha Artis, Nereida Borrero, Angel Cartagena, Daphne Gabbidon, Bertina Hutchinson, Robert Krakowski, Patrick LeBlanc, Doris McCoy, Kathleen McManus , Monica Morris, Oscar Molina, Annie Peralta, Linda Phinezee, Patricia Phan, Maribel Sanchez, Diana St. Croix, Pat Shelton, Sieuchand Sinanan, Kenneth Soobrian, Georgia Williams, Deborah Wright, and our winner, Audrey Sealey - but they are all winners, aren't they?

Nominations are requested in July of each year. A sub-committee of the Pastoral Care Advisory Committee reviews the nominees, interviewing them, the persons who nominated them, their supervisors and peers. The sub-committee recommends the winner, with the selection left in the hands of the Pastoral Care Advisory Committee, and a final blessing from the Senior Administration of the hospital. The Caring Heart Award is presented annually at a special ceremony during Pastoral Care Week, the last week in October.

Congratulations, Audrey Sealey - you have won our hearts through your caring heart!

Read more >

Find A Physician

Pay My Bill