Search form

National Recognition Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade A, Fall 2018
  • Hospital News

    The Brooklyn Hospital Center Earns Leapfrog Patient Safety Grade “A”

    November 8, 2018

    The Brooklyn Hospital Center (TBHC) received the highest grade “A” for patient safety from the prestigious Leapfrog Group. TBHC is one of only two hospitals in all of New York City to get an “A” and is the only A-rated hospital in Brooklyn. In fact, only about 8% of hospitals in the entire State of New York received this highest grade.

    “This ‘A’ is really the culmination of a story we began in late 2015,” says Gary G. Terrinoni, President and CEO of the 464-bed community hospital, the oldest in Brooklyn. “Since then, TBHC has invested millions of dollars to hire top doctors and specialists who have created new approaches to care and have ensured a quality environment for patients,” says Mr. Terrinoni.

    Among the changes TBHC made and planned are:

    • A new critical care initiative that improves outcomes for the sickest patients.
    • The launch of the Epic electronic medical record, which provides better coordination of care.
    • A $23-million transformation grant to renovate the Emergency Department, beginning early 2019.
    • A renovation plan for TBHC’s Downtown Brooklyn campus.
    • An expansion of the hospital’s ambulatory network into the surrounding communities.

    “We are doing sound and savvy planning to Keep Brooklyn Healthy today and into the future. And, we are thrilled to be celebrating our 175th anniversary in 2020. These achievements — and, of course, this ‘A’ — give patients, the community and clinicians an excellent reason to take another look at TBHC,” says Mr. Terrinoni.

    The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit healthcare ratings organization that grades more than 2,600 hospitals across the country on how well they keep patients safe from harm. Developed under the guidance of a Blue Ribbon National Expert Panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses multiple measures of hospital safety data to assign A, B, C, D and F grades to hospitals twice per year.